Director of Building Services: Jimmie Deer Email Icon

 Building Safety Division 

    The objective of the Department of Building Services is to ensure the built environment protects the public’s health, safety, and general welfare. Building Safety does this by issuing proper permits for approved construction, ensuring construction plans comply with codes and by inspecting construction for compliance to the applicable State and local construction codes. City staff ensures that construction meets the currently adopted Arkansas Fire Prevention Code, Arkansas Plumbing and Gas Codes, Arkansas Mechanical Code, Arkansas Energy Code and the Arkansas National Electric Code. Please contact the city building department at 479.784.2206 for specific information that is applicable to your specific project.

The Building Services Department also ensures that construction work is performed by properly licensed professionals and tradesmen on construction projects. The Building Department staff can assist with specific information and direction concerning the State and City requirements for licensing and registration.

Examples of construction that requires a building permit include:

  • New Construction
  • Additions
  • Remodeling
  • Alterations
  • Portable Buildings
  • Driveways
  • Siding
  • Roofs
  • Demolitions
  • Grade and Fill
  • Swimming Pools
  • Signs
  • Cell Towers
  • Parking Lots
  • Residential Fences over 6' tall
  • Retaining Walls over 4' Tall
  • Carports and Decks

For step by step instructions on obtaining a building permit, please click here.

Building Inspector: (479) 784-2239 or (479) 784-2240
Electrical Inspector: (479) 784-2233 or (479) 784-2234
Mechanical Inspector: (479) 784-2238 or (479) 784-2475
Plumbing Inspector: (479) 784-2215 or (479) 784-2475


Director of Building Services: Jimmie Deer (479) 784-2235
Building Inspections/Plans Manager: Jesse Bennett (479) 784-2213
Permit Officer:   (479) 784-1051
Building Inspector: Ed DeWitt (479) 784-2240
Building Inspector:  Kevin Reano (479) 784-2239
Electrical Inspector: Danny King (479) 784-2233
Electrical Inspector: Danny Goines (479) 784-2234
HVACR Inspector: Sean O'Kelly (479) 784-2238
Plumbing Inspector: James Coleman (479)784-2475
HVACR/Plumbing Inspector: Darrell Eads (479) 784-2215
Administrative Coordinator: Kelly Hicks (479) 784-2206