The Fort Smith City Administrator is appointed by the City Board of Directors and is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the city government. The Administrator provides the link between the elected governing body and manages the City's 15 departments. All of the city’s department heads report to the City Administrator.

The City Administrator's office is comprised of the Deputy Administrator, PR & Communications Manager, and administrative staff to the Mayor and Administrator. The staff provides research, analysis, and recommendations on policy and service matters to the Board of Directors; implement the board's decisions; prepare the city's annual budget for review and approval by the Board of Directors, and evaluate the effectiveness of programs and services offered by the City. The City Administrator also participates in discussions at the Board of Directors' meetings. 

While all 15 City departments ultimately report to the City Administrator, the following departments have direct reports to the City Administrator and Deputy Administrators respectively: 

Departments with Direct Report to the City Administrator:
  1. Public Safety - Police Department
  2. Public Safety - Fire Department
  3. City Clerk's Office
  4. Utility Department
  5. Finance Department
  6. Information Technology Services (ITS)
  7. Human Resources Office
  8. City Prosecuting Attorney's Office
Departments Reporting Directly to the Deputy City Administrator:
  1. Parks & Recreation Department
  2. Solid Waste Services Department
  3. Streets & Traffic Control Department
  4. Transit Department
  5. Engineering Department
  6. Building Services Department
  7. Development Services Department